(State and Capital) State And Capital Of India In Hindi By Name List: We all know that India is located in the southern part of the largest continent of Asia and is officially known as the Republic of India. It is governed by a parliamentary form of government. According to the latest data of the year 2021, there are 28 states and 8 union territories (UTs) in India.

Every state and union territory in India has an administrative, legislative and judicial capital. Every state is ruled by a Chief Minister. Here we have covered the list of Indian states, union territories and their capitals.

India is the second most popular country in the whole world. It is also considered to be the 7th largest country worldwide. Being such a large country, it can be difficult to manage the country’s activities. The Indian Constitution grants the Central Government the right to divide the country into various states and union territories as per convenience. All the details related to the States and Union Territories of India (State and Capital of India) are included in this article below.

(राज्य और राजधानी) State And Capital Of India In Hindi By Name List

Many people do not know about the total number of states/union territories in India and their capitals. In this article, we are giving you the latest updates on the states and capitals of India. Presently there are 28 states and 8 union territories in India (List Of State And Capital Of India).

The erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir has been divided into two union territories (UTs) of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh. The newly formed union territories were formed under a Reorganization Act passed by Parliament on 5–6 August 2020. Currently there are 8 union territories in India.

State And Capital Of India

Andhra   Pradesh Hyderabad (by 2 June 2024) Amaravati (Proposed)
Arunachal Pradesh  Itanagar
Assam   Dispur
Bihar   Patna
Chhattisgarh    Raipur
goa    register
Gujarat   Gandhinagar
Haryana  Chandigarh
Himachal Pradesh Shimla
Jharkhand  Ranchi
Karnataka Bengaluru
Kerala  Thiruvananthapuram
Madhya   Pradesh Bhopal
Manipur Imphal
Meghalaya Shillong
Mizoram Aizawl
Nagaland  Kohima
Odisha Bhubaneswar
Punjab Chandigarh
Rajasthan  Jaipur
tamil nadu chennai
Telangana Hyderabad
Tripura  Agartala
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow
Uttarakhand  Gairsain (Summer) Dehradun,
West Bengal  Kolkata

Union Territories And Their Capitals

union territoryCapital
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair
Chandigarh Chandigarh
Dadra and  Nagar Haveli,  Daman and Diu Daman
Delhi New  Delhi
Lakshadweep Kavaratti
Puducherry   Puducherry
Jammu and Kashmir  Srinagar (Summer), Jammu (Winter)
Ladakh  Leh

Read Also : Amazing Facts About Brain

What is the difference between state and union territory

A state is a constituent division that has a separate government. States have their own elected government which is vested with law-making powers. A union territory is a small administrative unit governed by the union. Union territories are directly administered and controlled by the central government of India.

States have federal relations with the central government. Legislative and executive powers are distributed Union territories have a unitary relationship with the central government which means that all legislative and executive powers rest with the Union.

The Governor is the constitutional head of the state. The President of India is the executive head of a union territory.

The Chief Minister, duly elected by the people, administers the state. The Union Territory is headed by an Administrator who is appointed by the President.

Your Comments